

NEWS RELEASE

John Muir Chapter

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

September 11, 2014

Contact: Dave Blouin, Political Chair (608) 220-4040 Shahla M. Werner, PhD., Chapter Director, (608) 256-0565

Sierra Club Announces Endorsed Candidates

Madison: The John Muir Chapter of the Sierra Club today released its list of endorsements so far for U.S. Congress, Governor, and State Legislature in the 2014 elections.

"The Sierra Club is very proud to announce these endorsements," said Shahla M. Werner, PhD., Chapter Director. "These candidates are committed to protecting Wisconsin families' health, air and water and to building a clean energy economy that works for Wisconsin."

The John Muir Chapter has endorsed 76 candidates so far this year for the State Legislature (see page 2). Incumbent officials were judged based on their overall environmental voting record, public statements and activities while in office. Challengers were measured by their responses to questionnaires and interviews, environmental platforms, public service, and public statements.

The 2013-14 Sierra Club Legislative Scorecard was used in part to judge incumbent candidates and can be found at: http://wisconsin.sierraclub.org/politics.asp. 33 state lawmakers scored a perfect 100% on the scorecard and have been named "2014 Environmental Champion" for their demonstrated commitment to preserving Wisconsin's environment.

"The GOP launched an all-out assault on the environment last session", concluded Dave Blouin, Political Committee Chair. "Electing strong environmental leaders who will work hard for Wisconsin's environment is a priority for the Club. We will do everything we can to help proenvironment candidates win"

The Sierra Club will mobilize our members to work for endorsed candidates. Our grassroots member volunteers will help distribute literature, contact neighbors and friends, make phone calls to voters and get out the vote.

The John Muir Chapter of the Sierra Club has over 15,000 members and supporters throughout Wisconsin, including members in every legislative district. The Sierra Club is America's oldest, largest and most influential grassroots environmental organization, working together to protect our communities and the planet.

The list of endorsed candidates follows on next page.

###

Sierra Club Proudly Endorses these candidates for Election in 2014 2014 Environmental Champions listed in bold

Governor

Mary Burke

U.S Congress:

1st District Rob Zerban 2nd District Mark Pocan 3rd District Ron Kind 4th District Gwen Moore 7th District Kelly Westlund

State Senate

Dean Debroux, D-De Pere (SD 1)

Tim Carpenter, D-Milwaukee (SD 3)

Chris Larson, D-Milwaukee (SD 7)

Martha Laning, D-Sheboygan (SD 9)

Dan Kilkenny, D-Delavan (SD 11)

Michelle Zahn, D-Juneau (SD 13)

Janis Ringhand, D-Evansville (SD 15)

Pat Bomhack, D-Spring Green (SD 17)

Penny Bernard Schaber, D-Appleton (SD

19)

Randy Bryce, D-Racine, (SD 21)

Phil Swanhorst, D-Chippewa Falls, (SD 23)

Janet Bewley, D-Ashland (SD 25)

Jon Erpenbach, D-Middleton (SD 27)

Kathleen Vinehout, D-Eau Claire (SD 31)

Sherryll Shaddock, D-Nashotah (SD 33)

State Assembly

Joe Majeski, D-Baileys Harbor (AD 1)

Chris Plaunt, D-De Pere (AD 4)

Daniel Riemer, D-Milwaukee (AD 7)

JoCasta Zamarripa, D-Milwaukee (AD 8)

Josh Zepnick, D-Milwaukee (AD 9)

David Bowen, D-Milwaukee (AD 10)

Mandela Barnes, D-Milwaukee (AD 11)

Fred Kessler, D-Milwaukee (AD 12)

John Weishan, D-West Allis (AD 15)

Leon Young, D-Milwaukee (AD 16)

LaTonya Johnson, D-Milwaukee (AD 17)

Evan Goyke, D-Milwaukee (AD 18)

Jonathan Brostoff, D-Milwaukee (AD 19)

Christine Sinicki, D-Milwaukee (AD 20)

Jesse Read, D-Sussex (AD 22)

Beth Lueck, D-Whitefish Bay (AD 23)

Mary Arnold, D-Columbus (AD 37)

State Assembly Continued:

Tom Chojnacki, D-Lake Mills (AD 38)

George Ferriter, D-Doylestown (AD 42)

Andy Jorgenson, D-Fort Atkinson (AD 43)

Deb Kolste, D-Janesville (AD 44)

Mark Spreitzer, D-Beloit (AD 45)

Gary Hebl, D-Sun Praire (AD 46)

Robb Kahl, D-Monona (AD 47)

Melissa Sargent, D-Madison (AD 48)

Chad Henneman, D-Boscobel (AD 49)

Christopher Miller, D-LaValle (AD 50)

Dick Cates, D-Spring Green (AD 51)

Gordon Hintz, D-Oshkosh (AD 54)

Mark Westphal, D-Neenah (AD 55)

Amanda Stuck, D-Appleton (AD 57)

Andy Mitchell, D-Burlington (AD 63)

Peter Barca, D-Kenosha (AD 64)

Tod Ohnstad, D-Kenosha (AD 65)

Cory Mason, D-Racine (AD 66)

Jeff Peck, D-Cadott (AD 68)

Norbert Salamonski, D-Marshfield (AD 69)

Amy Sue Vruwink, D-Blenker (AD 70)

Katrina Shankland, D-Stevens Point (AD

71)

Dana Duncan, D-Port Edwards (AD 72)

Nick Milroy, D- South Range (AD 73)

Beth Meyers, D-Bayfield (AD 74)

Stephen Smith, D-Rice Lake (AD 75)

Chris Taylor, D-Madison (AD 76)

Terese Berceau, D-Madison (AD 77)

Lisa Subeck, D-Madison (AD 78)

Dianne Hesselbein, D-Middleton (AD 79)

Sondy Pope, D-Verona (AD 80)

Dave Considine, D-Portage (AD 81)

Mandy Wright, D-Wausau (AD 85)

Nancy Stencil, D-Wausau (AD 86)

Richard Pulcher, D-Lublin (AD 87)

Dan Robinson, D-De Pere (AD 88)

Eric Genrich, D- Green Bay (AD 90)

Dana Wachs, D-Eau Claire (AD 91)

Chris Danou, D-Trempeleau (AD 92)

Jeff Smith, D-Eau Claire (AD 93)

Steve Doyle, D-Onalaska (AD 94)

Jill Billings, D- La Crosse (AD 95)

Peter Flesch, D-Soldiers Grove (AD 96)

Authorized and paid for by the Sierra Club. Not authorized by any candidate or candidate committee.