

754 Williamson St, Madison, WI 53703 (608) 256-0565 http://wisconsin.sierraclub.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

August 25, 2016

Contact: Dave Blouin, Chapter Political Chair (608) 220-4040 Elizabeth Ward, Chapter Program Coordinator (608) 445-4489

Sierra Club Announces Endorsed Candidates

Madison: The John Muir Chapter of the Sierra Club today released its list of endorsements to date for U.S. Senate, Congress, and State Legislature in the 2016 elections.

"The Sierra Club is very proud to announce these endorsements," said Bill Davis, Chapter Director. "These candidates are committed to protecting Wisconsin families' health, air and water and to building a clean energy economy that works for Wisconsin."

The John Muir Chapter has endorsed 80 candidates so far this year for the State Legislature. Incumbent officials were judged based on their overall environmental voting record, public statements and activities while in office. Challengers were measured by their responses to questionnaires and interviews, environmental platforms, public service, and public statements.

The 2015-16 Sierra Club Legislative Scorecard was used in part to judge incumbent candidates and can be found at: : http://www.sierraclub.org/wisconsin/lobbying-elections/political. 32 state lawmakers running for reelection scored a perfect 100% on the scorecard and have been named "2016 Environmental Champion" for their demonstrated commitment to preserving Wisconsin's environment.

"The GOP voted lockstep to continue its all-out assault on the environment last session", concluded Dave Blouin, Political Committee Chair. "Electing strong environmental leaders who will work hard for Wisconsin's environment is a priority for the Club. We will do everything we can to help proenvironment candidates win."

The Sierra Club will mobilize our members to work for endorsed candidates. Our grassroots member volunteers will help distribute literature, contact neighbors and friends, make phone calls to voters and get out the vote.

The list of endorsed candidates follows on next page.

###

Sierra Club Proudly Endorses these candidates for Election in 2016 2016 Environmental Champions listed in bold

<u>President</u>

Hillary Clinton

<u>U.S. Senate</u> Russ Feingold

U.S Congress

Mark Pocan Ron Kind Gwen Moore 2nd District 3rd District 4th District

<u>State Senate</u>

Lena Taylor, D-Milwaukee (SD 4) LaTonya Johnson, D-Milwaukee (SD 6) Diane Odeen, D-River Falls (SD 10) Brian Van Stippen, D-Deerbrook (SD 12) Mark Miller, D-Monona (SD 16) Mark Harris, D-Oshkosh (SD 18) Bob Wirch, D-Kenosha (SD 22) Julie Lassa, D-Stevens Point (SD 24) Fred Risser, D-Madison (SD 26) Dave Hansen, D-Green Bay (SD 30) Jennifer Shilling, D-La Crosse (SD 32)

State Assembly

Lynn Utesch, D-Kewaunee (AD 1) Tony Lee, D-Green Bay (AD 4) William Switalla, D-Wittenberg (AD 6) **Daniel Riemer**, D-Milwaukee (AD 7) JoCasta Zamarripa, D-Milwaukee (AD 8) Josh Zepnick, D-Milwaukee (AD 9) David Bowen, D-Milwaukee (AD 10) Fred Kessler, D-Milwaukee (AD 12) Chris Rockwood, D-Wauwatosa (AD 14) Leon Young, D-Milwaukee (AD 16) Evan Goyke, D-Milwaukee (AD 18) Jonathan Brostoff, D-Milwaukee (AD 19) Christine Sinicki, D-Milwaukee (AD 20) Rebecca Clarke, D-Sheboygan (AD 26) Nanette Bulebosh, D-Elkhart Lake (AD 27) Jeff Peterson, D-Luck (AD 28) Scottie Ard, D-New Richmond (AD 29) Scott Nelson, D-Hudson (AD 30) Clinton Anderson, D-Beloit (AD 31) Christine Welcher, D-East Troy (AD 32) Brandon White, D-Jefferson (AD 33)

Matthew Michalson, D-Lake Tomahawk (AD 34) Jordan Turner, D-Watertown (AD 37) Scott Michalak, D-Marshall (AD 38) Jim Zahn, D-Juneau (AD 39) Dimitri Martin, D-Waupaca (AD 40) George Ferriter, D-Fall River (AD 42) Don Vruwink, D-Milton (AD 43) **Deb Kolste,** D-Janesville (AD 44) Mark Spreitzer, D-Beloit (AD 45) Gary Hebl, D-Sun Praire (AD 46) Jimmy Anderson, D-Fitchburg (AD 47) Melissa Sargent, D-Madison (AD 48) Jesse Bennett, D-Bagley (AD 49) Art Shrader, D-Reedsburg (AD 50) Jeff Wright, D-Plain (AD 51) Paul Czisny, D-Fond du Lac (AD 52) Gordon Hintz, D-Oshkosh (AD 54) Bob Baker, D-Appleton (AD 55) Amanda Stuck, D-Appleton (AD 57) Amee Janus, D-Trevor (AD 61) Andy Mitchell, D-Burlington (AD 63) Peter Barca, D-Kenosha (AD 64) Tod Ohnstad, D-Kenosha (AD 65) Cory Mason, D-Racine (AD 66) Dennis Hunt, D-Chippewa Falls (AD 67) Howard White, D-Altoona (AD 68) Mark Holbrook, D-WI Rapids (AD 70) Katrina Shankland, D-Stevens Point (AD 71) David Gorski, D-WI Rapids (AD 72) Nick Milroy, D- South Range (AD 73) Beth Meyers, D-Bayfield (AD 74) Chris Taylor, D-Madison (AD 76) **Terese Berceau**, D-Madison (AD 77) Lisa Subeck, D-Madison (AD 78) Dianne Hesselbein, D-Middleton (AD 79) Sondy Pope, D-Verona (AD 80) Dave Considine, D-Portage (AD 81) Mandy Wright, D-Wausau (AD 85) Nancy Stencil, D-Wausau (AD 86) Elizabeth Riley, D-Hayward (AD 87) Noah Reif, D-Green Bay (AD 88) Heidi Fencl, D-Sobieski (AD 89) Eric Genrich, D- Green Bay (AD 90) Dana Wachs, D-Eau Claire (AD 91) Chris Danou, D-Trempeleau (AD 92) Steve Dovle, D-Onalaska (AD 94) Jill Billings, D- La Crosse (AD 95) Alicia Leinberger, D-Viroqua (AD 96)

State Assembly continued: